Mediacurrent Recognized for Excellence in Travel Technology

Marketing Content Strategist

Mediacurrent Recognized for Excellence in Travel Technology

Drupal Awards

 Last fall, we partnered with Code and Theory to launch the new on Drupal 8. Code and Theory led project management, digital strategy, UX and design for the project, while Mediacurrent spearheaded the development, content migration and internal QA testing.

Since launch, the site has gained impressive recognition, winning three awards for innovation, design, and use of Drupal technology:

1. WebAwards - 2017 Best General Interest Site
2. Travel Weekly 2017 Magellan Awards - Gold Winner
3. Acquia Engage Finalist - Best Travel and Tourism Site


See our case study for a closer look at how we developed a new website for Brand USA that combines a dynamic user experience with data-driven personalization features.

About the Magellan Awards 

 With entries from across the U.S. and around the world, the Magellan Award winners represent the best in the travel industry and salute the outstanding travel professionals behind it all. The Magellan Awards honor outstanding design, marketing, and services in a broad range of industry segments including Hospitality, Travel Destinations, Cruise Lines, Online Travel Services, Airlines and Airports, Travel Agents and Agencies, Tour Operators and Ground Transportation.

“This year’s winners represent the most talented and creative people in not just the travel industry but of any industry,” said Arnie Weissmann, editor in chief of Travel Weekly. “They continue to raise the bar, to inspire travel and enhance the travel experience. Their work leaves a lasting impression on our expert judges and readers.”

The Magellan Awards are judged and overseen by a one-of-a-kind panel of top travel professionals representing the best names and most accomplished leaders from the industry. In determining winners, entries do not compete with one another, instead, they are judged against a standard of excellence based on the long experience of Travel Weekly. To uphold this high standard of excellence, a category may have multiple winners, or may have no winners at all.

About the WebAwards

Each year the Web Marketing Association names the Best General Interest web site as part of the annual WebAward Competition.  Since 1997, the WebAwards are recognized as the premier industry based Website Award program in the world.

Best General Interest websites are selected by judges who review the entered websites using the seven criteria below:

  • Design 
  • Ease of use
  • Copywriting
  • Interactivity
  • Use of technology
  • Innovation
  • Content

About the Acquia Engage Awards

Acquia Engage is an awards program celebrating the innovation and creativity of Acquia customers and partners. A panel of distinguished judges comprised of luminaries from the digital and Drupal communities will evaluate the submissions based on several criteria, including: visual design, functionality, integration, and overall experience. 

In previous years, Mediacurrent has received Engage Awards for and Curtiss-Wright. 


Additional Resources
Mediacurrent's Design and Strategy Work Showcased in W3 Awards 
W Recognized as Acquia Partner Site of the Year

comments powered by Disqus